😯 I visited the Netscape website after a really really long time and well I got to say I was surprised. Gone was the portal that I once esteemed and in was the digg-like user driven content.

Now this is not new, Netscape changed its look way back in July but I checked it out only now. I used to like the old portal, used it often, but then slowly Netscape was getting worse and worse, stories were not updated frequently.
Regarding the browser, I still have Netscape 8.1 which is got great potential in my view but what keeps me from using it as my default browser is that its based on Firefox v1.0.7 which is slower than v1.5 and also I just like my extensions on FF.

So here’s my small comparison between Netscape.com and Digg:
Netscape.com: What seperates it from digg is that it has more categories (around 30) and also has editors called Anchors, who check the veracity of a story and add thier own comment. It’s varied and got a pretty clean look at the same time it displays a lot of information.
Digg: I think this is the most famous content driven site. Although, it has some categories, its mostly driven by tech content. The biggest advantage of Digg is that there are more users and I guess thats what matters on user driven sites. It has a cleaner look and more stories than Netscape.com

In the end, both are good, but Digg has the edge. I’d say use Digg for tech stuff and check out Netscape for broader categories. I still miss the old Netscape portal, especially the one they had for broadband users. 😦

Link: Netscape.com, Digg

